• Danny Dodds

Beach House - '7' Album Review

Beach House might just be the most consistent group in alternative rock working right now. So far in their extensive discography they have not put a step wrong in my opinion, each album being an expansion and evolution of their dreamy sound and just when I think they might have hit their wall, their newest album, 7, proves me wrong, offering a mix of new and classic sounds that serves as one of their best albums yet.

Fans of Beach House know the drill at this point, spacey synths, vocal effects and vacuum cleaner sounds make up most of their work and yet nothing about their sound ever feels stale or bland. They have built up a track record of clean and dreamy albums that never seem to go any faster than they need to, taking their time to make use of drawn out guitars that make every sound feel grand. The opening track to 7, 'Dark Spring' immediately shakes up this formula as the driving and upbeat banger is one of the highest tempo songs they've ever produced. This immediately sets the tone for an album that subverts many of the expectations that the duo have built up over their career. This is not to say that the entire album is comprised of new sounds, there's still plenty of trademark Beach House to be found here as the tracks 'Woo', 'Pay No Mind' and 'Drunk In L.A' show, with their slow and ghostly vocals over the sounds of Henry the hoover.

However, within the interstellar corridor of this album there are some clear signs of experimentation as the song 'Black Car' shows. This track is an amazing twist on the bright Beach House sound we are used to as this song is mysterious, dark and intimidating. 'Black Car' opens with these hypnotic synth notes that sound like something out of the cave level in Super Mario. The track slowly builds on these synth notes to a point where the song is simply eerie and haunting and possibly one of the best tracks the duo have produced.

Another experimental song in the tracklist is 'Lemon Glow', the lead single for 7 so naturally it has been on repeat for the past few months. I cannot get tired of this song, the strange and almost out-of-tune notes that carry the song's rhythm are infectious and disorientating, making it another stand out of the Album's concise 11-song tracklist.

The album doesn't overstay its welcome and as with all Beach House albums, 7 is the perfect length to keep the listener engaged without letting them get bored of the driving guitar loops. 7 is a celebration of the Beach House sound, offering new thrills for die hard fans as well as the classic driving guitars and ethereal vocals that will attract new listeners.


Listen to the album below:

#albumreview #beachhouse #alternative #dreampop

© Livewire1350 1990-2020.

Part of the UEA Media Collective.

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Snapchat - White Circle
  • SoundCloud - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle