• Music Team

Main Playlist Update 14/05/18

We have added some huge new tracks to the playlist this week! To start with we've added 'This is America' by one man wonder Childish Gambino. Joining him on the A list we also have the new Jess Glynn and the sensational 'Hunger' by Florence and the Machine. On B we've added the new singles from Janelle Monae, Bastille as well as the comeback single from Jungle 'Happy Man'. On C we've added Goat Girl and finally we have 10 fresh tracks for our new music playlist, you can read about them here:

Amber Mark - Love Me Right: New York R&B singer-songwriter Amber Mark gave us the brilliant 3:33 EP last year, which began to gain buzz after becoming one of Zane Lowe’s favourite releases. She’s now bringing her hard-hitting lyrics and sophisticated beats back with Love Me Right, off new EP ‘Conexao’.

Buddy - Trouble On Central: Some definite elements of 90s West Coast inspired the rapper’s newest single after ‘Black’ released in march. Buddy’s new track is really smooth and a funky bassline carries the melody well. Buddy gives us a full picture of a stir-crazy artist on the rise. It’s humanizing and wonderfully funky.

Dream League Soccer - So I Broke Her Heart: Describing themselves as ‘a local philly band [of] a couple goofy teenagers trying to make big money with the fat cats. This is their first single for their upcoming EP. Its got an upbeat groovy vibe despite singing about heartbreak.

Greta Isaac - Undone: Greta Isaac brings her playful pop sound to new single Undone. Riffing off acts such as Haim and Maggie Rogers, the cleverly written track deals with jealousy in love.

Marigolds - Slept Out: Norwich based 4-piece Marigolds are back at it again with their fresh blend of lo-fi indie and dream pop. New single ‘Slept Out’ is a lyrically reflective tune accompanied by hazy drums and ethereal guitar lines; the perfect track to bring in the summer. Make sure to catch them supporting Turnover at the Norwich Arts Centre on the 23rd of May.

Maya Law - Give Me No Love: Helpfully described by BBC Introducing as a ‘hip-hop, soul, reggae, pop artist’, Norwich-based Maya Law brings an empowering rant in the form of a song that doesn’t seem to fall into any of those categories. If you’re still looking for a reason to give it a spin, let it be this line: ‘I am tired and I’m sick of basing self-love on some dick.’

Momma - Work: LA lo-fi bedroom pop duo Momma, bring their new single “Work” in anticipation of their forthcoming album “Interloper”. This nostalgic track mentions themes of childhood over hazy guitars that build up into a soaring ending.

serpentwithfeet - cherubim: ‘cherubim’ is the second single from serpentwithfeet’s upcoming debut record ‘soil’ which is out on the 8th of June. The track unlike any other you’ve ever heard; an experimental take on R’n’B and Gospel music. With this song expect the unexpected.

Slowthai - Ladies: A rising grime artist, Slowthai’s Ladies is described by Pitchfork as having a “warped, queasy” beat. Slowthai’s off-kilter version of hip hop marks him out from the crowd, and Ladies, with its depth of meaning and standout rap, is no different.

TAPE TOY - Crazy Bae: TAPE TOY describe themselves as bubblegum-grunge and debut single Crazy Bae certainly seems to fit that description. Originally from Amsterdam, the band are currently taking their catchy guitar riffs and punchy female vocals on tour across the Netherlands.

Check out these songs and the rest of our playlist here:

#newmusic #playlist #music

© Livewire1350 1990-2020.

Part of the UEA Media Collective.

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Snapchat - White Circle
  • SoundCloud - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle