• Music Team

Main Playlist Update 16/04/18

This week we have a fresh playlist to start of the new semester. On the A list we've added Years and Years, M.O and Charlie Puth with his new single 'Done For Me' featuring Kehlani. We have some great new additions to the B list including Wombats, The Vaccines and Livewire one to watch Sigrid. Finally the C list is joined by Bad Sounds with 'Evil Powers' Leon Bridges and Ranx & Banz. As always we have topped our playlist off with ten new music tracks that you can read about below.

Dana and the Wolf - Modern Midas: Concerned with sexual predation, ‘Modern Midas’ is an explosive reaction to the recent ‘MeToo’ movement. With fearless elements from pop, R&B, hip-hop, and electronica, Dana and the Wolf’s message is unmissable.

Elk - Stupid World: ‘Stupid World’ is the lead single from York artist Elk’s debut EP ‘Beech’. It’s places beautiful relaxing acoustic music alongside delicate emotion vocals. The ambience and hush at the start of the track works perfectly with lyrics of feeling lost. The song then builds up through this to a stunningly climatic ending.

Gladboy - The Weight of Expectation: UEA’s own junkadelic 3-piece ‘Gladboy’ have released their new single ‘The Weight of Expectation’. Mixing garage-rock with glam-pop to come up a melodic and whimsical hit. Throughout the song singer George Orton used his charismatic vocals and lyricism to sing of wasted potential. If you want to catch them they are playing the Crypt on the Friday the 20th of April supporting Birds of Hell.

Frills - She’s Got Love: Frills are a New Zealand duo conceived in a Brooklyn bedroom studio by Simon Oscroft and Dan Gibson. Having previously featured on our playlist with their track Human Beingz, the duo are back with their new single ‘She’s Got Love’. This summery track is one that’s perfect for dancing to with its fun retro-inspired electric beat and fun falsetto vocals.

Hatchie - Sugar and Spice: ‘Sugar and Spice’ is the title track of Brisbane based artist Hachie’s upcoming EP. The song is about dealing with pressure you’ve put on yourself and others. These intimate lyrics are turned into lush, sparkly and euphoric song as Hatchies charismatic sound shines through.

King Princess - Talia: King Princess is an artist from Brooklyn, New York who found huge success with her debut single ‘1950’, a track which earned her 30 million Spotify plays and the attention of Harry Styles and The xx’s Romy Madley Croft. ‘1950’ was “a love song told through the lens of queerness” and her newest track ‘Talia’ builds on the theme but dealing with heartbreak. The first signing to Mark Ronson’s label Zelig, King Princess is making a name for herself in her own right.

Lxandra - Dig Deep: ‘Dig Deep’ is the new single from Finnish artist Lxandra. The track infuses modern pop music with classical influences to create an unexpected by universal hit. Lxandra already has a big following but this new single is going to take her in to bigger places. She’s definitely one to watch this year.

Matt Maltese - Like a Fish: Matt Maltese released his new single ‘Like a Fish’ alongside the announcement of his debut album ‘Bad Contestant’ which will be released on the 1st of June. Matt dedicates the smooth strolling number “to love triangles all around the world”. The stunning singer is also support Isaac Gracie at Norwich Arts Centre on the 22nd of April.

Mullally - Sweet Coffee ft. Bassette: ‘Sweet Coffee’ is the newest release from Atlantic-signed Mullally. The groovy, soul-moving R&B of the track, paired with its natural pop essence, marks Mullally out as a vocalist with a tempting streak. The influence from London-based singer Bassette gives the track a parallel, tying in with its lyrical conversation.

Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever - Talking Straight: The newest single from Australian band RBCF, ‘Talking Straight’ is a strong, vibrant indie rock song. With twisting guitars and front-man Joe White’s trademark laid-back yet infectious vocal style, ‘Talking Straight’ is a brilliant precursor to the band’s debut album, expected in June via Sub Pop.

Check out these songs and the rest of our playlist here:

#newmusic #playlist #music

© Livewire1350 1990-2020.

Part of the UEA Media Collective.

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Snapchat - White Circle
  • SoundCloud - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle