• Music Team

Main Playlist Update 05/03/18

This week we have a great selection of new additions. We have added the likes of DJ Khaled and Marshmellow to our A list, as well as moving Troye Sivan's massive 'My, My, My' up to it from B. We have added MNEK and Post Malone to our B list with their hit new singles. On top of this we have the new single from Dave on our C list as well as Young Fathers with 'Toy'. To top this weeks playlist off we also have ten fresh tracks from our new music playlist that you can read about below.

Banfi - Mercy Street: This new one from Banfi is a cover of Peter Gabriel’s 1986 ‘Mercy Street’, and is the B-side to their latest single ‘Never Really Cared’. Joe Banfi’s vocals add a gentle texture to the song, alongside intricate guitar work and atmospheric instrumentation from the rest of the trio. Having supported Bear’s Den, Nathaniel Rateliff and Amber Run, Banfi’s sweeping folk-pop is certainly worth keeping an eye on in future!

Creep Show - Modern Parenting: Bella Union signees Creep Show’s second single ‘Modern Parenting’ brings together squelchy synthy sounds that wouldn’t sound out of place on one of those keyboards you’d play with in secondary school music lessons, with unique and sometimes sinister vocals. Recorded in Cornwall with enough drum machines and synthesizers to sink a ship, this track follows no formula, instead taking its own unique journey into the abyss...

itoldyouiwouldeatyou - Get Terrified: ‘Get Terrified’ is the lead single of the upcoming EP from London group itoldyouiwouldeatyou. In the single the band tie bring together genres from emo to math rock to punk to create a self reflecting intricate track. The EP of the same name comes out on the 20th of April through Alcopop! Records and Failure by Design Records.

Jack River - Ballroom: Holly Rankin, better known by her stage name Jack River, is a singer songwriter based in Sydney, Australia.Having already spearheaded her own festival focusing on female talent in Australia, she’s now focusing on creating new material described in her own words as ‘folk songs laced with acid’. New single ‘Ballroom’ displays River’s taste in eclectic pop music paired with hauntingly beautiful lyrics. She says the song is built on “that untouchable determination that drives through your blood when you want something so bad, nothing can stop you”. Jack River is currently on tour in Australia ahead of the next iteration of her Electric Lady Festival on April 10th.

Linn Koch-Emmery - Wires: The latest release from the Swedish musician after the release of her EP Boys in Autumn last year. This is a sound that’s a bit away from her latest EP release. This song incorporates an expansive guitar sound that turns into a flowing rush of chords that mixes well with Linn’s chilling vocals. It’s the right balance of upbeat and calming.

Me Not You - CHEMICAL CURE: The duo from Brooklyn has dropped this track ahead of their new EP coming soon. This is a sharp and verging on the darker side of the pop world as the song explores the high and the low points of using chemicals as an escape from reality. Some of the effects of these chemicals is evident in the spacey vibe of the track.

Meggie Brown - Coming Back Again: Meggie Brown lives in a North London warehouse surrounded by fixed up guitar pedals scattered across the floor and lyrics on brown paper covering the walls. Her debut single ‘Coming Back Again’ is a short and punchy track produced by Franz Ferdinand singer Alex Kapranos. Having just supported Franz Ferdinand on three UK dates her introduction has been described as spiky post-punk, one to look out for in the future!

Moss Kena - You Don’t Know: Following up his latest chill tune ‘Square One’, Moss Kena shares a sultry sweet track from his debut EP ‘Found You in 06’. “The five-track body of work is the perfect introduction to Moss’ gorgeous Prince-esque vocals and fresh R&B sounds.”

Rebounder - Japanese Posters: There is little information about New York band Rebounder who’s Facebook page is only a week old and is lacking any information about the band.However, what can be said about them is that debut single ‘Japanese Posters’ is causing a stir. The anonymous band has released a Strokes-eque indie banger which is bound to impress.

VOKES - Expectation: LA based project VOKES is the artist output of singer and producer Mike Harris. From the upcoming Delusions EP ‘Expectation’ is a riff fuel pop rock anthem. Full to the brim of synths, pounding drums and powerful vocals Harris is really pulling all the stops for this new single.

Check out these songs and the rest of our playlist here:

#newmusic #playlist #music

© Livewire1350 1990-2020.

Part of the UEA Media Collective.

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Snapchat - White Circle
  • SoundCloud - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle